Welcome to the ICF-BSE

The honorary status of “Fellow, Biomaterials Science and Engineering” (FBSE) was established in April 1992 after the constituent biomaterials societies of the World Biomaterials Congress, now the IUS-BSE, recognized the need for the public recognition of those of their members who have gained a status of excellent professional standing and high achievements in the field of biomaterials science and engineering.

Fellows Membership Donation

We ask all fellows to make an annual membership donation of $49 (USD) or more. This can be done on the Society for Biomaterials (USA) website. They have generously allowed us to use their site to collect the donations.


   % of active fellows who have donated:

Upcoming Events:

Fellows Business Meeting - Thursday April 12th, 11am, Location TBA

Recent Noteworthy Items

Fellows Debate at ESB 2018

September 12th, 2018|Comments Off on Fellows Debate at ESB 2018

Pictured left to right: Joachim Kohn, Abhay Pandit, Andrés García, and Serena Best A Fellows Session was hosted at ESB 2018 and we are happy to report it was a great success! The approximately 100 [...]

Fellows at SFB 2018

March 19th, 2018|Comments Off on Fellows at SFB 2018

Many Fellows are speaking and/or are being recognized at this year’s SFB Annual Meeting. We highly recommend that you visit some of the talks, posters, panels, and events featuring these outstanding scientists and engineers listed [...]

Generous Donation from AO Research Institute Davos – Thank You!

March 2nd, 2018|Comments Off on Generous Donation from AO Research Institute Davos – Thank You!

Thank you very much to the AO Research Institute Davos and its Director, Prof. R. Geoff Richards, for the generous donation of 2000 CHF in support of the further development of this website. We are excited [...]

Fellows Recognized with High Honors

February 6th, 2018|Comments Off on Fellows Recognized with High Honors

Three Fellows of Biomaterials Science and Engineering were recently named to the Orders of Canada and Australia. Many congratulations! Molly S Shoichet Officer of Order of Canada Michael Sefton Officer of Order of Canada Anthony [...]